BCLI Commission Seats

As commissioners, our alumni work to advance equitable policies and processes. For example, on the Hayward Community Services Commission an alumna drafted and passed a resolution that centered BIPOC communities in their funding decisions and on the Alameda County Public Health Commission, racism was recognized as a public health issue through the work of an alum.

Alumni also foster relationships to bring the voices of impacted communities into decision-making processes. In Eastern Contra Costa County, an alum on the Ambrose Recreation and Park District Board worked to hold one of their meetings at a park to enable community participation and resulted in the approval of a new ADA-compliant park - the first in this unincorporated area!

BCLI alumni serve on a variety of commissions. The specific boards and commissions on which BCLI alumni are currently serving are listed below.


Peace Esonwune-Chukwudi (2024)

Sugar-Sweetened Beverage Product Panel of Experts


Laura Nakamura (2021)

Concord City Council

East Palo Alto

Cristal Montes (2023)

Rent Stabilization Board

Laura Rubio (2024)

Rent Stabilization Board

Ofelia Bello (2019)

Sanitary District Board of Directors

Quenton Smith (2022)

Planning Commission

Vanessa Smith (2021)

Rent Stabilization Board

Mountain View

Emily Ramos (2023)

City Council


Larisa Casillas (2012)

Budget Advisory Commission

Lupe Garcia (2023)

Budget Advisory Commission

Saabir Lockett (2018)

Army Base Jobs Oversight Committee


Mary K. Bier (2016)

City Council


Sarah Foster (2023)

Planning Commission


Lea Murray (2023)

Reimagining Safety Task Force

Tomasa Espinoza (2023)

Rent Board

San Francisco

Amerika Sanchez (2019)

San Francisco Human Rights Commission

Caroline Law (2023)

Geary Community Advisory Committee
Public Utilities Commission Citizens' Advisory Committee

Eddie Ahn (2012)

Chair, Commission on the Environment

Evita Chavez (2023)

Building Inspection Commission

Hillary Brown (2023)

Parks, Recreation, and Open Space Advisory Committee
Geary Community Advisory Committee

Jenny Lam (2012)

Board of Education

Kavin Williams (2024)

Building Inspection Commission

Kelly Wong (2024)

Elections Commission

Moisés García (2018)

Chair, Public Utilities Commission Community Advisory Council (CAC)

Stephen Tennis (2014)

Citizens' Advisory Committee for the Central Market and Tenderloin Area

Theresa Imperial (2017)

Planning Commission

Wendy Aragon (2017)

Chair, Park, Recreation, and Open Space Advisory Committee

Santa Fe, New Mexico

Rhea L. Serna (2016)

Santa Fe Planning Commission


Benita Tsao (2022)

Alameda County Elections Oversight Commission

Dr Jennifer Ong (2010)

Vice-Chair, Alameda County Workforce Investment Board

Dulce Galicia (2024)

North Richmond Municipal Advisory Council

Eduardo Torres (2020)

Contra Costa County Ambrose Park and Recreation Board
Municipal Advisory Council

Judith Guerrero (2024)

Chair, San Mateo County Farmworker Advisory Commission

Kimi Barbosa Olmos (2023)

Sonoma County Child Care Planning Council

Marlene Hurd (2013)

Chair, Alameda County Consumer Affairs Commission

Samantha Columbus (2021)

Alameda County – Oakland Community Action Partnerships (AC OCAP)

Sarah Foster (2023)

Contra Costa Sustainability Commission
Contra Costa County Countywide Bicycle and Pedestrian Safety Committee

Zhonnet Harper (2019)

Alameda County Public Health Commission


Carina Lieu (2021)

Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) Policy Advisory Council (PAC)

Eddie Ahn (2012)

Metropolitan Transportation Commission
San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission

Gabriela Orantes (2020)

Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) Policy Advisory Council (PAC)

Hillary Brown (2023)

BART Accessibility Task Force
Metropolitan Transpiration Commission (MTC) Regional Network Management Customer Advisory Group

Pamela Campos (2023)

Chair, Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) Policy Advisory Council (PAC)

Susan Ma (2015)

BART Title VI and Environmental Justice Advisory Committee

William Goodwin (2020)

Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) Policy Advisory Council (PAC)
Bay Area Air Quality Management District (BAAQMD) Advisory Council


José Lopez (2018)

California Energy Commission, Clean Transportation Program Advisory Committee

Noemi Gallardo (2014)

California Energy Commission

More about BCLI